Lexington-Richland School District Five is now accepting applications for its magnet and other choice programs.

The window for submitting a choice application opened January 10 at 9 am and closes January 27, at 5 pm.

The preferred process is using the online application, which is now available on the district’s website and all school websites. Hard copy applications will also be available at School District Five schools and the district office. They must be received at the district office at 1020 Dutch Fork Road, Irmo January 27 at 5 pm.

“School District Five is a school system where every choice is a great choice, and we are extremely proud to offer a wide array of quality magnet and other choice programs,” School District Five Magnet Director Sara Wheeler said. “It’s our goal to provide families with the choices they need to make their students successful, and we look forward to seeing all the positive impacts of offering choice programs in School District Five.”

Hundreds of students, parents and community members gathered at School District Five Magnet Fairs in November and January to learn more about magnet offerings in the district. In September 2017, School District Five magnet programs received a boost from a $13.7 million federal Magnet School Assistance Program (MSAP) grant.

The district’s magnet programs include: Dutch Fork Elementary School Academy of Environmental Sciences, H. E. Corley Elementary School Leadership Magnet and Montessori Magnet, Escolares Academy at Harbison West Elementary School, Leaphart Elementary School STEAM Magnet, Nursery Road Elementary School-Arts Magnet, Seven Oaks Elementary School MEDIA Magnet, Irmo Middle School International Academic Magnet, I AM Escolares at Irmo Middle School, STEM Magnet at Dutch Fork High School, Irmo High School International School for the Arts, International Baccalaureate Diploma and Career-related Programmes at Irmo High School, and Spring Hill High School Career Pathways Magnet. 

The application deadline has already passed for two district magnet programs. The Escolares Academy at Harbison West Elementary School and the STEM Honors Magnet Program at Dutch Fork High School are each criteria-based programs with their own application process.

School District Five Choice includes the option to select any school in the district that has space available to accommodate additional students or to select a magnet school or magnet program. In addition to magnet programs, School District Five “School of Choice” options currently include: Harbison West Elementary School, Irmo Elementary School, Oak Pointe Elementary School, River Springs Elementary School, CrossRoads Intermediate School, Chapin High School, Dutch Fork High School. More information on School District Five choice programs is available online at www.lexrich5.org under the Choice programs tab.

To complete the application, please visit: D5ChoiceApp.com/login.