High school and middle school students from across School District Five will perform Roald Dahl’s Willy Wonka from May 2 – May 4 at the Center for the Arts at Irmo High School International School for the Arts (6671 St Andrews Rd, Columbia, SC 29212). The performance is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI).

Tickets are $7 and can be purchased online by visiting http://bit.ly/2UkyPF4 or the front office of any School District Five high school or middle school.

“The musical promotes unity by providing students from across the district the opportunity to come together to work on a common goal,” said Tami Richardson, School District Five Coordinator for Gifted and Visual Performing Arts. “So many times, students compete with one another, but the musical gives them a chance to collaborate on a project with one another. Students have the opportunity to build relationships with students from other schools. It’s a great experience for them to work with and learn from other students who are as passionate about theatre and the arts as they are.”

Show times are as follows:

Thursday, May 2 at 7:00 p.m.

Friday, May 3 at 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 4 at 2:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m.

As described by MTI, the delicious adventures experienced by Charlie Bucket on his visit to Willy Wonka’s mysterious chocolate factory light up the stage in this captivating adaptation of Roald Dahl’s fantastical tale. Featuring the enchanting songs from the 1971 film starring Gene Wilder and new songs by Leslie Bricusse (Jekyll & Hyde, Doctor Dolittle) and Anthony Newley, Roald Dahl’s Willy Wonka is a scrumdidilyumptious musical guaranteed to delight everyone’s sweet tooth.

Students cast in the musical include: Edward Klutz, Hailey Locascio, Bryce Manley, Matthew McDonald, Kennedy McMillon, Peyton Myers, Kaeleigh Miller, Alayna Minder, Emma Myers, Josh Senter, Ashton Smith, Thomas Sowell, Michelle Strom, Savannah Easterling, Will Cosper, Bryce Manley, Veronique Chayer, Molly Todd, Christopher DiLorenzo, Matthew McDonald, Lauren Bailey, Christian Banks, Makayla Hines, Katilyn Ashley, Emma Carter, Larkin Taffoni, Kennedy Henry, Kylee Frye, Ryan Hill, Asher Thompson, Joanmae Cabalbag, Kaniya Davis, Grace Hankins, Jas Webber, Olivia Bellinger, Ta’Kiyah Butler, Cassidy Huey, and Naiah Johnson.

Students participated in auditions for the performance at the end of January. As part of the audition process, students were asked to prepare a vocal audition of approximately one minute and also perform a dance number.

The production team for the musical include: Lauren Sherr (Technical Director), Sumner Bender (Director), Hannah Simpson (Musical Director), Madeline Thiemann (Choreographer), Dakota Demato (Elementary Dance Teacher), and Emily Roberts (Production Manager)

The district musical is funded by School District Five, Page Five and the District 5 Foundation.

Leave a Reply