It was a day most student athletes dream of; the day they publicly sign a letter of intent to the college of their choice. 31 student athletes across District Five participated in National Signing Day where they signed their letters of intent in front of their families, peers and coaches.

Among Chapin High School’s five signees were Will Register, a future University of South Carolina football player, and Makenzye Whitman who signed with Winthrop to play softball.

Whitman loved having the majority of Chapin High School’s student body present to witness her decision.

“It’s really exciting just to know that everyone here supports us and wanted to be a part of this,” she said.

Chapin High School’s Head Football Coach Justin Gentry congratulated all of the signees saying they represent the very best that Chapin has to offer.

“We are all very proud of our student athletes who are signing letters of intent today and know you will go on to do great things,” he said.

Bobby Irby was one of 15 players to sign a letter of intent at Dutch Fork High School. Irby said he can’t wait to play football at Newberry College.

“It’s the best feeling of my life. Everyone here at Dutch Fork High has helped us all so much. We’ve become better men and the coaches here have pushed us so much,” said Irby.

Dutch Fork High School Athletic Director and Head Football Coach Tom Knotts said National Signing Day is a cumulation of every student athlete’s hard work both on and off the field.

“National Signing Day is a tremendously important day in the life of a student athlete’s life. Although each has their own unique story, it took countless hours of work to reach this point, both on the field and in the classroom,” said Knotts.

Irmo High School had eleven student athletes make their decisions official. Irmo High Athletic Director and Head Football Coach Reggie Kennedy had nothing but praise for his students, but pushed them to finish what they started.

“We are very proud of our student athletes and signing their letters of intent today,” said Kennedy. “If you really look at it, they will impact the world from so many different angles. My philosophy is to teach the game of life through athletics. We just set the foundation for our students both in the classroom and on the playing fields. I want you all to build off of that and go do something great.”

Here is a full list of District Five’s student athletes who signed a letter of intent today:


Chapin High School


Andrew Gallagher – Newberry College for soccer

Will Register – University of South Carolina for football

Kale Rhame – Charleston Southern University for football

Will Webster – Coastal Carolina for football

Makenzye Whitman – Winthrop for softball


Dutch Fork High School

Bryson Cannon – Independence Community College for football

Chris Colburn – Limestone College for football

Ward Hacklen – Spartanburg Methodist College for baseball

Isaiah Hair – Limestone College for football

Jon Holton – North Greenville University for football

Meredith Holton – College of Charleston for soccer

Bobby Irby – Newberry College for football

Lauren Joch – Wofford College for tennis

Bailey Malovic – Highland Community College for football

Meghan Murphy – Emory University for softball

Reese Nichols – Newberry College for football

Summer Sampson – Hiwassee College for volleyball

Malik Sumter – Georgia State University for football

Alison Walsh – Limestone College for tennis

Brian Wilson – Wingate University for football


Irmo High School

Robyn Abernethy – Columbia College for softball

Kristen Bane – Presbyterian College for soccer

Jer’Nasia Coleman – USC Upstate for track

Nick Comfort – Newberry College for football

Kaylyn Hernandez – Columbia International University for soccer

Sydney Kay – Methodist University for softball

Zafir Kelly – South Carolina State College for football

Shakem McIntosh-Bradley – Highland University, Kansas for football

Rebekah Reinhard – Columbia International University for soccer

Janna Rickenbaker – Columbia International University for soccer

Jeffrey Tharp – Newberry College for football