Columbia Fire Chief Aubrey D. Jenkins announced the graduation of 32 members of the Columbia Fire Department’s Recruit Class 16-0 during a graduation ceremony held January 12.

“I am very proud of these recruits, now probationary firefighters for their accomplishments and dedication they have shown to get to this point and will expect the same as they begin their career with the Columbia Fire Department,” Chief Jenkins said.

The Columbia Fire Department also presented awards to two recruits; the Maltese Cross Award and the Bryan P. Roberts Award. The Maltese Cross is a symbol of protection. It means that the firefighter who wears this cross is willing to lay down his or her life . . . just as the Crusaders sacrificed their lives for their fellow man so many years ago. The Maltese Cross is a firefighter’s badge of honor, signifying that he or she works in courage, pride and honor.

The Columbia Fire Department set-up this award to be presented to the top recruit as voted on by the class and instructors, Class 16-02 Maltese Cross recipient is Chad Price.

The Brian P. Roberts Award – In 2007, Bryan was hired to be part of the CFD Recruit Class 07-01. Unfortunately, Bryan passed away while at home, prior to the completion of recruit school. His fellow classmates dedicated the remaining portion of the recruit program to his honor. In Bryan’s honor and memory, the Columbia Fire Department set-up the Bryan P. Roberts Award in 2007. This award is to be presented to the recruit that has maintained the highest grade point average in each recruit school. Class 16-02 Bryan P. Roberts recipient is Thomas Kunak.

Chief Jenkins and all the members of the Columbia Fire Department welcome:



Adam Baker, Donovan Boatwright, Brian Branath, Jesse Bussey, Courtney Clowney, David Cox, Michael D. Driggers, Michael T. Driggers, Christian Edwards, Patrick English, Jesse Fain, Rudolph Godfrey, Gustavo Gonzalez, William Good, Patrick Hayes, Joshua Jeter, Thomas Kunak, John Mabie, Harry Mann, Sean McCutcheon, Ethan McEndarfer, Joshua McGee, Josh Moskaitis, Duncan Oliver, Trevor Paul, Chad Price, Anthony Rembisz, William Roeder, Jaered Shelton, Chris Sword, Macy Washington, Daniel Watson.