BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina has recognized several South Carolina hospitals with a Blue Distinction Center for Maternity Care designation as part of the Blue Distinction Specialty Care program. Blue Distinction Centers are nationally designated hospitals that show expertise in delivering improved patient safety and better health outcomes, based on objective measures that were developed with input from the medical community.

The facilities being recognized as Blue Distinction Centers+ for quality and cost are:

  • Aiken Regional Medical Centers, Aiken
  • AnMed Health Medical Center, Anderson
  • Beaufort Memorial Hospital, Beaufort
  • Bon Secours St Francis Xavier Hospital, Charleston
  • Carolinas Hospital System, Florence
  • Conway Hospital, Conway
  • East Cooper Medical Center, Mount Pleasant
  • GHS Greenville Memorial Hospital, Greenville
  • GHS Greer Memorial Hospital, Greer
  • Grand Strand Medical Center, Myrtle Beach
  • Lexington Medical Center, Lexington
  • MUSC Medical Center, Charleston
  • Piedmont Medical Center, Rock Hill
  • Roper Mount Pleasant Hospital, Mount Pleasant
  • Springs Memorial Hospital, Lancaster
  • St. Francis Eastside, Greenville
  • The Regional Medical Center of Orangeburg & Calhoun Counties, Orangeburg
  • Tidelands Waccamaw Community Hospital, Murrells Inlet

The facilities being recognized as Blue Distinction Centers for quality are:

  • Baptist Easley Hospital, Easley
  • Coastal Carolina Hospital, Hardeeville
  • Colleton Medical Center, Walterboro
  • GHS Laurens County Memorial Hospital, Clinton
  • GHS Oconee Memorial Hospital, Seneca
  • Hilton Head Hospital, Hilton Head Island
  • Kershaw Health, Camden
  • Newberry County Memorial Hospital, Newberry
  • Palmetto Health Baptist, Columbia
  • Palmetto Health Baptist Parkridge, Columbia
  • Palmetto Health Richland, Columbia
  • Palmetto Health Tuomey, Sumter
  • Self Regional Healthcare, Greenwood
  • Tidelands Georgetown Memorial Hospital, Georgetown
  • Trident Medical Center, North Charleston


Since 2006, the Blue Distinction Specialty Care program has helped patients find quality specialty care in several areas including cancer care, cardiac care, maternity care, knee and hip replacements, spine surgery and transplants, Research shows that, compared to other hospitals, those designated as Blue Distinction Centers demonstrate better quality and improved outcomes for patients.